Historical Dates in the Philippines

Important Dates

More Trivia

January 1 – a holiday in the Philippines; revelry starts on the night of December 31.

January 20, 2001 – Vice President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo replaced President Joseph Estrada via a military-backed people's revolt.

January 23, 1899 – The First Philippine Republic was inaugurated in Malolos.

February 5, 1899 – Emilio Aguinaldo, president of the First Philippine Republic, declared war against the United States.

February 17, 1872- Three Filipino priests – Jose Burgos, Mariano Gomez and Jacinto Zamora – were executed in Bagumbayan.

February 18, 1565 – Miguel Lopez de Legazpi landed in Samar; took possession of the island.

February 22-26, 1986 – Filipinos launched the so-called People Power revolution that led to the ouster of Ferdinand Marcos.

March 11, 1942 – General Douglas MacArthur fled from the Philippines; vowed to return.

March 16, 1521 – Ferdinand Magellan discovered the Philippines; landed in Samar.

March 23, 1901 – President Emilio Aguinaldo surrendered to American forces in Palanan, Isabela; later took an allegiance to the Americans.

March 29, 1942 – Luis Taruk organized the Hukbo ng Bayan Laban sa Hapon (Hukbalahap), an underground guerilla movement.

March 31, 1521 – The first mass was held in Limasawa Island.

April 9, 1942 – Bataan fell to Japanese forces.

April 11, 1899 – By virtue of Treaty of Paris, Spain ceded the Philippines to the US; sold for US$20 million.

April 26, 1898 – The United States and Spain declared war against each other over the Philippines, Cuba, Guam and Puerto Rico.

April 27, 1521 – Battle of Mactan; Magellan was killed by men of Lapu-Lapu.

April 30, 1937 – Filipino women won the right to vote during a plebiscite.

May 1, 1913 – The first Labor Day was celebrated in the country.

May 1, 2001 – Some 20,000 supporters of deposed President Joseph Estrada attacked Malacanang Palace in what is now known as the mob rebellion.

May 6, 1899 – The first municipal election was held in Baliuag, Bulacan under American supervision.

May 6, 1942 – American and Filipino forces in Corregidor Island surrendered to Japanese forces.

May 10, 1897 – Andres Bonifacio was executed at Mount Buntis in Maragondon, Cavite by men of Emilio Aguinaldo.

May 14, 1935 – Filipinos ratified the 1935 Constitution.

May 19, 1571 – Miguel Lopez de Legazpi defeated Raha Sulayman; claimed Manila for Spain.

June 10, 1647 – Dutch fleet attacked Cavite; later lost to Spaniards.

June 12, 1898 – Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' independence from Spain, its colonial master for 333 years.

June 19, 1861 – Jose Rizal was born in Calamba, Laguna.

July 4, 1901 – William Howard Taft became the first American civil governor in the country.

July 4, 1946 – The United States declared the independence of the Philippines.

August 8, 1967 – The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) was established, with the Philippines as a founding member.

August 21, 1971 – A bomb explosion disrupted a meeting of Liberal Party politicians at Plaza Miranda in Quiapo, Manila.

August 21, 1983 – Benigno Aquino on his return from exile in the US was shot dead at the airport.

August 23, 1896 – The Katipuneros led by Andres Bonifacio met at Pugad Lawin in Balintawak and tore their cedulas, in defiance to Spanish authority.

August 23, 1901 – The US Ship Thomas, with 600 American teachers on board, arrived in Manila. These teachers were later called Thomasites.

August 25 – National Heroes Day

August 30, 1951 – The RP-US Mutual Defense Treaty was approved under the Quirino administration.

September 21, 1972 – President Ferdinand Marcos declared Martial Law; lifted it on January 17, 1981.

September 29, 1901 – A US general ordered his troops to "shoot anything that moves" in what is now known as Balangiga massacre in Samar.

October 4, 1762 – British forces sieged Intramuros; Spaniard later reclaimed the walled city.

October 20, 1944 – General Douglas MacArthur returned to the Philippines via Palo, Leyte.

November 1 – a holiday; All Saint's Day

November 1, 1542 – Ruy Lopez de Villalobos named the archipelago Felipinas after King Felipe II of Spain.

November 1, 1897 – Emilio Aguinaldo and his supporters established the Biak na Bato Republic.

November 30, 1863 – Andres Bonifacio was born in Manila.

December 10, 1898 – The US and Spain signed the Treaty of Paris; the former acquired the Philippines from the latter for US$20 million.

December 10, 1941 – Japanese forces attacked Manila; occupied the city on January 2, 1942.

December 14, 1897 – The revolutionary government led by Emilio Aguinaldo signed a peace pact with the Spanish government. Aguinaldo went to Hong Kong.

December 25 – Christmas day

December 30, 1896 – Jose Rizal was executed in Bagumbayan.

December 30, 1937 – President Manuel L. Quezon declared Tagalog as the basis of the national language.

More Trivia

You may also like...

Leave a Reply